Goodbye To My Dear Son – Adam Salih

Adam picking brambleberries in a park in October 2020

We buried my son yesterday – Wednesday 14th July 2021. His name was Adam Salih and he would have turned twenty-one on that day. It is not in the natural order of things for parents to have to bury their child.

Flashback: I have just returned home from work and my heart lifts as I see Adam. He is three years old and he runs up to me with his bright and eager eyes and issues his familiar demand: “Pick meeee uppppp!” Adam loves being held to adult height and then cuddled closely.

It is hard-wired into our DNA to protect our children from the danger around them. We would do anything for them. And yet, I could not protect my son from the dark cloud that I first noticed began hovering over him shortly after he turned sixteen. I witnessed his troubled and agonising struggle to escape the shadow of that cloud. Sometimes the cloud would appear to clear to a certain extent but you got the definite sense that the cloud was never very far away and indeed was closely tracking him. I could not grasp the full extent of the torment that was afflicting Adam on the inside.

This wholly innocent, gentle and sensitive boy endured so much over the past few years. He was so blameless and kind-hearted but was suffering inside while putting on a brave face for the rest of us so that we would not worry. We found out at the end of the last weekend that Adam had come to the conclusion that he could not endure the pain any longer and so had sought an escape from his illness in the only way he could think of.

The morning after Adam has passed away, I look for help to try and cope with what has happened. I send a message to a journalist and friend whom I have known for many years who I know has experienced a similar loss in the past and was also aware of Adam’s own struggle. He responds saying that I will feel wave after wave of overwhelming grief and that I will just need to let it all wash over me. He says that eventually the waters will calm and I will arrive at a place of peace. I am crying as I read this. Not normal tears but huge fat tears. The sea analogy is an apt one. At this time, however, I feel like I am on a little flimsy raft in the middle of an ocean. I cannot see land in any direction.

Flashback: It is the first Covid lockdown in the summer of 2020 and I am playing badminton in the garden with Adam. The sun is shining and I catch delightful glimpses of Adam breaking into a smile as he wins point after point against me. I am happy that Adam is beating me.

Calls of sympathy start coming in. I wish they wouldn’t and I bring them to a conclusion almost instantaneously – I find it impossible to finish a sentence at this early stage without breaking down. If you called me and I did not pick up – it’s because I can hardly bring myself to speak. I receive text and WhatsApp messages. These are from friends I made during my activist years – friends who remained friends despite me seeming to alienate just about every UK Muslim group in the country with my frequently non-conformist views. I also receive kind messages from some surprising quarters. I try and find the time to read them all and try and respond whenever I feel up to the task. Please do not feel slighted if I was not able to respond. An old friend writes to remind me of the inspiring story of the long separation and re-uniting of Ya’qub (Jacob) and Yusuf (Joseph) in the Qur’an. The story inadvertently begins to make me feel bitter: even Ya’qub was allowed to see his son again in this world. I, however, will never see my handsome Adam or hear his voice again in this world and this thought is killing me right now.

I am just staggered at this turn of events. I go to Valentine’s Park in Ilford. It is a gorgeous park and Adam spent many blissful hours here as a little boy joyfully exploring and running around in the children’s playground. How did we get from there to here? I just don’t know. I was speaking with Adam less than two days ago and he had said he would be coming over to my home to eat. I keep shaking my head as I look at all the children now playing there. I desperately want my child back. Please God.

I am wracked with guilty questions: How could I have failed to notice the very recent danger signs which now seem so obvious? What kind of person would fail to notice and act on those signs?

Flashback: It is towards the end of 2020 and Adam is reading a book while he lies down on the large thick rug beside my bookcases. He likes to pull out a book to read and then sprawl out on the rug. I notice wryly that he always appears to select books on spirituality or the humanities – never my books about science.

I place my prayer mat where Adam used to lie down on the rug and imagine myself in this very same place but at an earlier time when he was reading here and I find myself trying to stroke his luxuriant hair. He was such a prodigious reader. He had no desire for material goods or money. The wealth Adam valued was knowledge and understanding. He had built himself an extensive collection of classical literature. In the past three years he had taught himself Arabic, Latin and French and the art of drawing and how to play the flute. I really have no idea how he managed it. I was so incredibly proud of him.

My mum was younger than I am now when she passed away many years ago after contracting meningitis during the Hajj (pilgrimage to Makkah). I recall being bitter at the time of mum’s death too. In time, however, I was comforted by the knowledge that this had been God’s Will and that she had gone to a much better place. My Adam has now gone and departed this world too after a much briefer period of time. And as with my mum, it is this same knowledge and assurance that what has happened is God’s Will and that Adam is now in a far better place and has finally found the relief and peace he was so desperately longing for that is my only solace at this time.

The Qur’an is explicit that we will all be tested in various ways. I console myself repeating Abraham’s words: “aslamtu li rabbil ‘aalameen” – I submit to the Lord of the Worlds.

It is the morning of Adam’s funeral and I am with the team at the Gardens of Peace cemetery near Hainault as they are performing his ghusl (washing of the body) prior to the Janaza (funeral) prayer. I feel stunned and numb as I now gaze at Adam’s body on the ghusl table. I shake my head in disbelief – that is my own son’s now inert body.

In our wider society we rarely discuss death, yet it is surely the bluntest of facts. The Qur’an reminds us that “Every soul shall taste death” (Qur’an 3:185). This realisation ought to force us to ask ourselves the profoundest of questions about what we are doing with our lives and how we relate to each other. All of us without exception will be joining Adam – we just don’t know when.

The kindness, compassion and professionalism shown by the entire GoP team throughout the day serves to soothe much of the pain we are feeling today.

It is true that Adam’s body which we now see being lowered into the grave is lifeless, but I am convinced that his beautiful soul will surely find acceptance with His Creator. My lovely boy had been unwell and had suffered terribly through no fault of his own and I am comforted in the knowledge that Adam’s ultimate judge is God alone – not ill-educated ignorant human beings. And God informs us that “He is the Most Merciful of all that show mercy” (Qur’an 12:64).

Flashback: A couple of close friends are visiting me and my little Adam takes delight in proving to them that he is without question as strong as the Incredible Hulk and can jump equally great distances. Look – he can jump from the sofa on to the floor. Can there really be any doubt that he is a super-hero he seems to ask.

Sept 2003: Adam demonstrating his likeness with the Incredible Hulk

Yesterday, just a couple of hours after Adam’s burial, with those very same friends, we go to visit Adam’s grave together. Their support and banter helps to lift my spirits for a little while. I am grateful to them.

I have experienced – and continue to experience – a lot of anger at myself over the past few days as I have been floating on that raft in the middle of the wide ocean. New questions keep popping up and troubling me about what more I could and should have done to help Adam. I am not sure that those questions will ever go away or receive a fully satisfactory answer. A lifetime of Qur’an study convinces me nonetheless to try and be patient and persevere through this awful trial. If I place my trust in God alone, I believe I will surely reach land and be re-united with my beloved Adam once again.

“…Never give up hope of God’s Soothing Mercy: truly no one gives up hope of God’s Soothing Mercy, except those who have no faith.” (Qur’an 12:87)

It is that welcome promise along with the kind support of our family and dear friends that enables me to cling on to that raft.

“The eyes weep and the heart grieves, yet we do not say anything but that which pleases our Lord.” (Sahih Bukhari)

See you soon, my darling boy. We all miss you so very much.

“To God we belong and to Him we return.” (Qur’an 2:156)

PS: The family has set up a Sadaqa Jariya fundraising page for Adam. All monies raised go directly to the Ummah Welfare Trust who have been instructed to set up water wells in a number of developing countries.

Update: On the afternoon of July 22 – eight days after we buried Adam – I was reading the Qur’an beside Adam’s grave and came to the below passage in Surah Aal-i-Imran:

“And God did indeed choose Adam…” (Qur’an 3:33)

This passage has provided – and continues to provide – a lot of comfort to me. I have high hopes that God will have mercy on my gentle and tender-hearted boy.

Update 2: In Feb 2023, while trying to fall asleep, I was repeatedly reciting to myself in Arabic the verse from the Qur’an that translates as “And put your trust in God. Let God suffice as worthy of all trust.” When I woke up for the early morning prayer I decided to look up where in the Qur’an this passage occurs. It occurs in two places, with the second occurrence being at Qur’an 33:3. So, the verse, “God did indeed choose Adam…” is at Qur’an 3:33 and the verse “And put your trust in God. Let God suffice as worthy of all trust” is at Qur’an 33:3. I found this symmetry to be really beautiful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Goodbye To My Dear Son – Adam Salih

  1. Naved Siddiqi says:

    How painful and yet how beautiful Inayat. In my fervent du’a, for your meeting again, for peace in your souls.

  2. Adil says:

    Allah bless you and your family always, Inayat.

    It was an emotional read for such a calamity that I pray Allah raises you, Adam’s mother and your who family in ranks. Ameen
    رحمة الله عليه غفر الله له

  3. Giada Combusti says:

    ❤️
    Jafar’s Family

  4. Fareedoon Ahmed says:

    Such a tragedy, I cannot imagine the pain. Thank you for sharing your memories of Adam, his talent and spirit. I have a 3 year old myself and your recollections resonate. may his soul be lifted to the highest place.

  5. Sayed Mohsin Abbas says:

    Inna lillahai wa inna alayhai rajayoun.May Allah swt ease your pain br… and thankyou for sharing your reflection on this tragedy. God says he burdens us only with that which we carry and I pray you and your family to be blessed with the patience to bear this loss…and having lost a 2 year old nephew I can empathise to an extent and may God give your son a goodly abode in the Hereafter ..he sounds like an amazing young man and cherishing his achievements as you have done here is a beautiful way of remembering him. You have his offspring to develop too.. and your son lives on your grandchild…this is a great 🙌.. wecshall pray for your son and yourselves.iA

  6. Asim Safdar says:

    Inna lillahi wa Inna ilaihi rajioun… So sad to hear about your loss brother Inayat. Indeed a very difficult time for you. I pray he is brought together with you in a better place.

  7. HifsaHI says:

    Such a beautiful tribute to a beautiful young man. I cannot begin to imagine the depth of your pain. May the Almighty grant you the patience to bear this massive heartbreak.
    ‎إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعون

  8. Mahbub mohamed says:

    Inayat i have been through what you going through at the moment please believe me time is a great healer though it may not sound like it at the moment let me tell you what help me pull through it that this a temporary separation and knowing we meet again kept me going brother may allah make it easy for you and your family Aameen

    • Luzita Ball says:

      Salaams sorry we got this message too late after an unexpected visitor left late at night.

      Please pass this to Inayat and Tahmina:

      Assalaamu alaykum wr wb
      Inna lillahi wa ilayhi rajioon. Very sorry to hear of your loss brother Inayat and sister Tahmina- of your son Adam Salih. It is really heart breaking to watch your child going through this and not feeling able to help. I have recently researched depression for a leaflet on Islam and depression which I hope that WAMY UK is soon going to print when they have enough funding. I hope that this will help a few people to feel less helpless and hopeless.

      We hope that Allah forgives and has mercy upon him and that you may all be one day reunited in Jannah. May Allah comfort all the family and ease all your affairs, helping you to have sabr and strength.

      All belongs to Allah who lends us companions to keep us company for some time in this world and decides what time is best for them to be returned to Him. May Allah help us to accept His destiny for us with grace. May Allah help us to learn from all our experiences what Allah wants us to learn.

      With love and salaams with best wishes, Luzita, Noureddine Miladi and family

  9. Aaqil Ahmed says:

    It’s truly heartbreaking but I hope your beautiful note helps in some way. Stay strong and I hope the raft helps you reach dry land.

  10. Nafis says:

    Heartbreaking. So sorry for your loss Inayat, there aren’t any words that suffice.

    The loss is temporary, you will be reunited with him and only then will your pain will disappear.

    Until then, I pray that Allah grant you the eventual strength to move through the inertia of your pain and learn to take the pain with you to make you stronger person not just for your family, the Ummah but for Adam. You will be strong for him until you greet him again and then it will only be the pure joy of reunion.

  11. UmmIbrahim says:

    Salam, I am so so sorry to hear of your loss. I can’t imagine what you are going through. May Allah swt comfort you and your family, fill Adam’s grave with comfort, and unite you all in Jannah. Ameen. Take care.

  12. Nusrat Hussain says:

    Inayat. Whilst it has been so very many years since we met or that I had even seen Adam, I too only recall those flashbacks of his innocent beautiful childhood ways. My heart is with you and his mother, cannot begin to imagine your pain. Whatever Allah swt has in store for you may you emerge from this pain in some small way in tine to come. For what else is there? May we learn from your grief and tragedy. I am so so so very sorry. 🙏🏽🙏🏽❤️❤️ Nusrat.

  13. Modasar Rasul says:

    Inna lillahi wa Inna lillahi Rajioon. May Allah bless Adam’s soul and give you all patience. It’s such a tragic loss and I hope you all find solace.

  14. Shahada says:

    Inayat, I am reduced to tears with the rawness and openness of your thoughts. I couldn’t sleep last night, this is the power of your words my friend. We all feel your pain of this tragedy. There will inshallah be a positive legacy and that is highlighting mental wellbeing. In ours thoughts and prayers my friend

  15. Monwara says:

    Innalillahi wainnah ilayhi rajioon
    So sorry to read of the loss of your son.
    Burying him on what would have been his 21st birthday.
    Yesterday we celebrated my sons 31st birthday so I can only imagine the pain and emptiness that you’re feeling.
    You’re very brave in your words and I pray that you will find courage to carry on.

  16. Shaistah ahmed says:

    Asslamalaykom I know what it is like to feel pain like that. May Allah swt grant Adam highest place in jannah and ease your pain. It will ease you will manage but never completely get over it. My son became beloved to Allah swt a month before his 30th birthday in February 2020. His little girl was 13months old at the time and a baby boy arrived a month later. He has left a young widow devastated by her loss. We are still alive, regularly visit Gop and care for his beautiful children. It is the will of Allah above all I am a proud mother whose son passed away reciting shahadah and seeking my forgiveness. I succumb to allahs will and simply say alhamdolillah. Despite knowing all the right things I miss his hug his smile and the glass of water by my bedside. My hearts says he is in jannah Ameen.

  17. myazami says:

    My dearest brother. Words cannot really do justice here but I write because I’m not sure what else to do. My deepest deepest condolences for the passing of Adam. He sounds like a wonderful sensitive intelligent man who was clearly loved by all who came to know him. Allah bless him, grant him mercy and unite you all in time to come. In the meantime I hope and pray your raft finds safe harbour. Much love my brother. Much love. Peace. ❤️

  18. Kibbs Osafo says:

    So sorry for your families loss. Thank you for opening up to us and if one person reaches out to and prevents another sad loss it will have been worthwhile. Continue being a brave and pure soul. The answers you seek are not a resolution. Will solve nothing now, cannot question the judgement of the lord but perseverance and trust is all we can share in. Condolences and prayers.

  19. Many years ago I was an activist in The Young Muslims UK. Unknown to me there was a very young boy called Ilyas in our scouts section who remembers me. Ilyas wrote a poem earlier this week about Adam that I have derived much comfort from and I am very grateful for. Please do share with others who may have experienced a similar loss.

    = =.

    Beloved Father Inayat and Beloved Mother Tahmina

    Do not cry for me, oh my Mother!
    More beloved to me, than any other
    Know that I am not gone, I am here,
    Look into your heart, you’ll see me near,
    Our bond is eternal, we’ll not be separated,
    It’s just that right now I’ve been elevated.

    Do not cry for me, my beloved Father!
    I am near to you, though seemingly farther,
    I am the shadow following you constantly,
    Please don’t look around despondently,
    In the depths of your spirit, deep in your eyes,
    Whoever says we’re separated is telling lies!

    I am now in the company of beautiful Angels,
    Amongst peaceful gardens, and kindest strangers,
    Overlooked by the Most High, His Perfect Company,
    Total bliss, and the rivers of milk and honey,
    If only you could see me with your eyes.
    I reached pure bliss, as my soul left the skies.

    I know you’re sad, and I’m aware that you’re grieving,
    And I know how you’re struggling with me leaving,
    But know that this parting is for a short while,
    Promise me that you’ll be patient during this trial.
    I love you deeply and with all my heart,
    Wherever we travel we’ll never be apart.

    I wait here and will stand to welcome you both,
    I’ll hold your hand into Paradise, this is my oath.
    Do not cry for me, my beloved Father and Mother,
    It won’t be long and we’ll unite with one another.
    No matter how your heart is grieving
    All I want is that you just keep believing..

    Until We Meet Again.

    Adam

    ‎-إلياس‎

  20. Ifhat says:

    Inna llilah e wa inna elehi rajihoon. What a beautiful young man. Jzk br. Inyat for sharing your beautiful memories and your throughts. Truely, It, s not an easy thing to bear your soul to everyone but this is in the hope that it helps you and reminds us all of how fleeting life truely is and how Allah will test his true believers. The Qur’an indeed has answers to all of life, s questions and may you, my beautiful sister Tahmina and your families find peace in the knowledge that you will all reunite insha. Allah in jannah. I cannot imagine the hurt n pain you are feeling but I pray that it gets easier for you in time. Allah swt has promised ” With every difficulty, There is ease” and “Allah does not burden a soul more than it can bear”. These are my lifelines in the most difficult of time. I Pray that you also find some comfort in these promises that Allah has made in the Qur’an. May Allah swt, in His infinite mercy, ease your pain. May He, The Most Merciful one grant your Adam Jannat ul Firdous. Lots of duas brother

  21. heavyd786 says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Adam sounds like a wonderful young man. May Allah swt envelope him in His mercy and give you and your family sabr to deal with the heartbreak.

    As you mentioned, it may not always not be possible to make sense of why things happen or decisions people make. Some people find ‘acceptance’ as a way of continuing with their own life.

    I pray Allah swt helps you and the family find your own ways to navigate through these difficult times.

    You are in our Duas.
    Aman Durrani (Glasgow)

  22. Rehanah Sadiq says:

    God bless you for sharing this dear Inayat. How beautiful and poignantly you express yourself.

    That intense pain you feel is the intensity of your love. No one can really know your pain – though we can feel it deeply.

    What an incredibly amazing young man Adam was! It seems he lived a lifetime in just so few years, bless him!

    It is my belief that parents can never do enough for their children, and there is nothing more you could have done. The time had come and this is how it would be. And Allāh would take back that which was His. And at the appointed time, He took Adam back to Himself.

    He relieved Adam from the test he had endured for long enough, for which insha’Allah, he will be rewarded in abundance for. Allāh knows all that we don’t.

    Oh dear, dear brother, as you sway on that raft, know that this is a part of your journey. You won’t stay on it forever. But you will be deepened in the knowledge of your inner self.

    Then you will land at the shore. And walk the shore. And Allāh will continue to send His help to you, that you may continue to find strength.

    It is not all for nothing my brother. You have wonderful qualities that Allāh instilled in you. And we have seen you live that out. Your iman is beautiful Inayat. And He loves you for the depth of it.

    You have a purpose here while you wait to be reunited with Adam. Your words alone are a support to others in their time of hopelessness and despair.

    May each day bring you greater ease, and greater joy in the sweet, cherished memories of your lovely son.

    We continue to keep you deep in our thoughts and prayers.

    Here, should you need anything.

    Your sister,
    Rehanah

  23. Saqib A says:

    Dear Br Inayat, this was recently shared with me and caused the shedding of a sincere tear and a Du’a for your son. May Allah (swt) forgive and have mercy on his beautiful soul. I discussed this tragedy with my children, advising them to always seek help and support if they detect any dark clouds hovering over them (easier said than done), there should be no taboo on mental health and its affliction in our community and we should try our best to remind people that the sanctity of our lives is ultimately a gift and trust from Allah (swt) which we cannot forsake. ‘Fa inna ma’al usri yusra’ [94:6] Take care.

  24. adeem.mahmood83@googlemail.com says:

    Dear Br Inayat,

    Asalam Alaikum, I am sorry for your loss and may Allah swt give you sabr until the day you meet Adam in jannah Inshallah.

    p.s I some how came across this page in error and recognised you. Many, many years ago, I bumped into you in Ilford city centre. You were handing out leaflets – regarding H Cohen , who was standing as an M.P for Ilford (leaflets were highlighting zionism and the atrocities against palestinians and how this guy standing for election was supporting them). I remember spending some time with you and assisting you in handing out leaflets. Subhan’allah, came across this page by pure chance.

    May Allah swt keep you safe and well

  25. Moon Cake says:

    Thank you for taking the courage to write about your experience, it helps me treasure the blessed time I’m having with my children, and be less harsh with their antics. I will treasure every time I run my hand through my son’s hair (who is also called Adam, what a beautiful name!). I will try to remind myself to love my children for who they are, observe the wonder in them and be grateful for the moments we are together on earth. May Allah ease your pain and bless your Adam with abundance of love, relief, mercy and joy, ameen!

  26. Ayesha Masood says:

    Dear Inayat
    I remember you very well from YM very well and am saddened to learn about your tragedy. I can see Adam looks like an amazing young man in the pictures.
    And pray that you find peace in these trying times. May Allah rest Adams soul in peace.
    Incidentally I am Assist trained and have some understanding of suicide as I set up Hope practice for Mind a suicide prevention service helping Gp’s to spot signs in young people earlier on and intervene.
    There are no resources for young people struggling with mental health and no money to resolve this.
    I came across your name by chance on Facebook and remembered you were my brother Ehsan Masoods friend .
    You will be on your own individual journey and get through this in your own way and in your own time.
    And I applaud the way you have reached out publicly and raised awareness through your pain.
    Kind regards
    Ayesha

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.